Supreme Court justices reported earning millions of dollars from book deals, teaching positions, and other outside activities in their recently released annual financial disclosures. The filings cover the 2025 calendar year for eight of the nine justices; Justice Samuel Alito received an extension.
Justice Sonia Sotomayor reported receiving concert tickets valued at $4,333 from Rimas Entertainment, a Puerto Rican record label, during a private trip to the island in August 2025. The disclosure did not specify which concert she attended, though Rimas Entertainment represents artists including Bad Bunny, who had a concert residency in San Juan during that period.
Four justices collectively earned over $2 million from book-related income. Justice Ketanji Brown Jackson reported a $1.18 million book advance from Penguin Random House for her memoir, "Lovely One," published in 2024. This payment followed nearly $2.07 million in similar advance income from the same publisher reported the previous year. Jackson also disclosed receiving a painting valued at $2,500, titled "Worthy," which is displayed in her chambers. She also reported $88,100 in royalties from Penguin for her children's books, "Turning Pages" and "Just Ask!," and noted that her publisher spent $7,473 to support sales of "Just Shine."
Justice Amy Coney Barrett reported earning $849,071 in royalties from her 2025 book, "Listening to the Law." Justice Neil Gorsuch disclosed $300,361 in book royalties, primarily from HarperCollins for his children's book, "Heroes of 1776: The Story of the Declaration of Independence."
Several justices also reported income from teaching. Barrett and Justice Brett Kavanaugh each earned $33,285 for teaching at the University of Notre Dame Law School, where they are adjunct professors. Chief Justice John Roberts received $25,000 from New England Law for teaching a course in Galway, Ireland. Justice Clarence Thomas disclosed $18,000 in teaching income from The Catholic University of America Columbus School of Law, while Gorsuch reported $30,380 for teaching at George Mason University.
These disclosures come amid heightened public scrutiny of the justices' financial dealings, following past instances where certain travel and real estate transactions were not disclosed. This has led to calls for increased transparency and stricter oversight of the Supreme Court.